IT (Information Technology) Certifications:


Professional certifications in computer or information technology are non-degree awards made to those who have achieved qualifications specified by a certifying authority. Depending on the particular certification, qualifications may include completing a course of study, proof of professional accomplishments, achieving a specified grade on an examination or some combination thereof. The intention is to establish that an individual holding a certification is technically qualified to hold certain types of position within the field.


Certifications, generally, need to be renewed periodically, or may be valid for a specific period (e.g. the lifetime of the product upon which the individual is certified). As a part of a complete renewal of an individual's certification, it is common for the individual to show evidence of continual learning and it is often termed continuing education.


There are perhaps as many as One Hundred (100) IT Information Technology or Computer Technology certifications.  It is suggested that any individual in pursuit of this type of certification do their own research and due diligence to determine what is best for them.  The certification landscape changes as almost as swiftly as the technologies being supported.  It is difficult at best to keep up or stay ahead.  Keep your eyes on the internet search or the new products that are being introduced into the marketplace in order to be "In The Know".


Here are the Top Twelve IT Cerifications in Spring 2012:


  1) MCITP - Microsoft Certified Information Technology Professional

  2) MCTS - Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist

  3) VCP - VMware Certified Professional

  4) CCIE - Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert

  5) CCNA - Cisco Certified Network Associate

  6) CSSA - Certified SonicWALL Security Administrator

  7) PMP - Project Management Professional

  8) CISSP - Certified Information Systems Security Professional

  9) ACSP - Apple Certified Support Professional

10) Network+ - Vendor-Neutral IT Network Absolute Fundamentals

11) A+ - Vendor-Neutral IT Absolute Basic Fundamentals

12) Certified Healthcare IT Technician


Resources For Further Review:


1) Here is a link to an extensive listing of IT Certifications. 


The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA), a non-profit trade association, was created in 1982 as the Association of Better Computer Dealers, Incorporated (ABCD) by representatives of five microcomputer dealerships.


2) A+ Certification -- CompTIA A+ certification validates foundation-level knowledge and skills necessary for a career in IT support. It is the starting point for a career. The international, vendor-neutral certification proves competence in areas such as installation, preventative maintenance, networking, security and troubleshooting.


CLICK HERE  for the CompTIA A+ Certification Exam Guide.


3) Network+ Certification -- CompTIA Network+ is a certification that is used to measure skill as a network technician: understanding of network hardware, installation, and troubleshooting. Network+ was first launched in 1999.  The Topics include network hardware, connections, software, the OSI Reference model, and different protocols used in local area networks (LANs) and wide area networks (WANs). CompTIA recommends the A+ certification and nine months networking experience before sitting for this exam.


CLICK HERE  for the CompTIA Network+ Certification Exam Guide.


4) Certified Healthcare IT Technician -- The CompTIA Healthcare IT Technician certification covers the knowledge and skills required to implement, deploy, and support healthcare IT systems in various clinical settings.  Potential candidates should possess a basic understanding of practice workflow while adhering to code of conduct policies and security best practices.  The exam is intended for IT professionals who are CompTIA A+ certified or have 500 hours of hands-on IT technical experience in the lab or field, plus the knowledge/skills necessary to deploy and support healthcare IT systems in clinical settings.


CLICK HERE  for the CompTIA Certified Healthcare IT Technician Guide.

© Healthcare Technology Management Association of Ohio
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software